Regionale Veranstaltungen und Outback-Events in Australien

Ord Valley Muster, Western Australia. © Caleb Davenport.

Regionale Veranstaltungen und Outback-Events in Australien

Die endlosen Weiten Australiens bieten die perfekte Kulisse für einzigartige Events, die es so wohl kaum an anderen Orten der Welt geben könnte. Erleben Sie den Kangaroo Island Gourmet Gallop oder den Alice Springs Camel Cup. Das Man from Snowy River Bush Festival, das Ord Valley Muster und das Mount Isa Rodeo vermitteln Ihnen einen Eindruck vom Leben im australischen Busch. Besuchen Sie die Freiluftveranstaltungen für klassische Musik Opera in the Paddock oder Opera in the Vineyards oder feiern Sie Weihnachten im Juli in den malerischen Blue Mountains. Gehen Sie beim Coober Pedy Opal Festival unter Tage. Genießen Sie bei Tastes of the Outback in South Australia die kulinarische Seite der Wildnis oder feuern Sie bei den Birdsville Races in Queensland Ihren Favoriten an.

Kangaroo Island Gourmet Gallop
Kangaroo Island Gourmet Gallop

Kangaroo Island Gourmet Gallop

Kangaroo Island, South Australia
Januar

Beim Kangaroo Island Gourmet Gallop wird ein aufregender Pferderenntag mit berühmten Gourmet-Erzeugnissen von Kangaroo Island wie Meeresfrüchten, Lamm, Olivenöl, Honig und Wein abgerundet. Bei den sechs Rennen können Sie Wetten abschließen oder einfach die einzigartige Atmosphäre genießen. Der Kangaroo Island Racing Club verfügt über eine der schönsten Rennstrecken in South Australia, die sich harmonisch in die unberührte Landschaft von Australiens drittgrößter Insel einfügt. 0 Verbringen Sie einen Tag bei den Rennen und nehmen Sie sich danach vielleicht noch einige Tage Zeit, um die anderen beliebten Attraktionen der Insel zu erkunden.

1. – 31. Mai 2015
Während des National

Aussie Wine Month können Sie die feinen Weine und Speisen des Landes auf unterhaltsame Art erkunden. Mit Veranstaltungen in ganz Australien wie Winzerei-Konzerten und Fahrradtouren durch Weinregionen können die Besucher Erkundungen abseits der ausgetretenen Pfade machen oder sich bei einem großen Event in der Stadt Wein servieren lassen.

Targa Tasmania
Targa Tasmania

Targa Tasmania

Tasmanien
April

Im April treten bei Targa Tasmania bis zu 300 der außergewöhnlichsten Wagen der Welt bei einer wilden Ralley durch ganz Tasmanien an. Das speziell auf Sportautos, Touren- und Luxusrennwagen ausgerichtete 6-Tage-Rennen führt von Launceston nach Hobart, wobei mehr als 2000 Kilometer zurückgelegt werden. Feuern Sie Weltmeister und Prominente von speziellen Zuschauerpunkten aus an. Beim Mittagessen in malerischen Ortschaften wie George Town, Sheffield, St Helens, Devonport und New Norfolk kann es gut sein, dass Sie dem einen oder anderen Fahrer begegnen. Besucher können sogar selbst mit ihren Sportwagen bei dieser weltweit übertragenen Rallye durch die malerische Landschaft teilnehmen.

Orange, New South Wales
April

Das Zentrum von Orange in New South Wales ist jeden April Schauplatz der 10 Tage andauernden Orange F.O.O.D Week mit unzähligen kulinarischen Köstlichkeiten. Die Stadt ist weniger als vier Stunden von Sydney entfernt. Besucher kommen in den Genuss berühmter frischer Erzeugnisse der Region und können auf über 60 Veranstaltungen die Menschen kennenlernen, die sie zubereiten. Genießen Sie ein Frühstück in den Weinbergen, schlendern Sie über Apfelplantagen oder nehmen Sie in einem der ausgezeichneten Restaurants vor Ort an einem Kochkurs teil. Besuchen Sie ein Degustationsmenü oder einen Maskenball. Wenn die offiziellen Veranstaltungen sich dem Ende zuneigen, sollten Sie sich die international bekannten Weingüter für Kühlklimaweine ansehen.

The Man from Snowy River Bush Festival
Man from Snowy River Festival

The Man from Snowy River Bush Festival

Corryong, Victoria
April

Das Man from Snowy River Bush Festival findet jedes Jahr in Corryong, Victoria, in den Ausläufern der Snowy Mountains zwischen Melbourne und Sydney statt. Dieses Festival, dass das von Pioniergeist geprägte Leben im Busch und die damit verbundenen Fertigkeiten und Traditionen würdigt, ist eine einzigartige Versammlung von Reitern, Poeten, Künstlern und Liebhabern des Australian High Country. Jeden April treffen sich hier Menschen aus ganz Australien sowie internationale Besucher, um die traditionelle Kultur des Hochlands und des Busches sowie die Atmosphäre zu erleben, die im berühmtesten Gedicht Australiens, „The Man from Snowy River“, beschrieben wird.

Canberra District Wine Harvest Festival
Canberra Wine Harvest Festival

Canberra District Wine Harvest Festival

Canberra und Umland, Australian Capital Territory
April

Das Canberra District Wine Harvest Festival bietet die perfekte Gelegenheit, die berühmten Kühlklima-Weine der Region zu verkosten. Genießen Sie den Anblick der Weinberge zur Erntezeit, wenn die Trauben schwer von den Zweigen hängen. Versuchen Sie sich beim Traubenpressen, verkosten Sie die edlen Tropfen oder lassen Sie einfach die tolle Atmosphäre und die für diesen Anlass kreierten Harvest-Festival-Menüs auf sich wirken. Probieren Sie die neuen Weine des letzten Jahres und schauen Sie dabei zu, wie der aktuelle Jahrgang entsteht. In der Weinregion Canberra District befinden sich an die 30 Weingüter. Hier ist es noch möglich, mit den Winzern oder Besitzern der Weinkellerei ins Gespräch zu kommen.

Kununurra, Western Australia
Mai

Beim Ord Valley Muster in der Kimberley Region wird zwei Wochen lang intensiv das Leben gefeiert. Mehr als 50 Veranstaltungen in der rauen Landschaft der Region locken Tausende Besucher an. Verkleiden Sie sich für das witzige Geländewagen-Abenteuer, schwimmen Sie quer durch den Lake Argyle, Australiens größten künstlichen See oder fahren Sie mit dem Mountain Bike die 800 Kilometer lange Gibb River Road entlang. Probieren Sie die frischen Erzeugnisse aus der Region und genießen Sie Musik und Tanz der Aborigines. Feiern Sie gemeinsam mit den Einwohnern, schürfen Sie nach Diamanten oder bewundern Sie die hartgesottenen Cowboys beim Rodeo. Das große Finale des Events bildet das Kimberley Moon, ein Country-Konzert am Ufer des Ord River.

Blue Mountains, New South Wales
Juni-August

Jedes Jahr zieht es im Winter auf der südlichen Halbkugel, also von Juni bis August, zahlreiche Besucher zum Yulefest in die Blue Mountains, wo die Atmosphäre und der Charme einer traditionellen weißen Weihnacht nachempfunden werden kann. Die klare, kalte Luft und der gelegentliche Schneefall in den Blue Mountains eignen sich perfekt für Kaminfeuer, Festtagsbraten, Weihnachtslieder am Klavier, festliche Bälle und natürlich auch Auftritte von Santa Claus. Im Juni füllen sich die Straßen von Katoomba bei der großen Parade des Winter Magic Festival mit Jongleuren, Akrobaten, Musikern, Tänzern, Chören, Troubadouren, Geschichtenerzählern und Dichtern.

Lasseters Camel Cup
Lasseters Camel Cup

Lasseters Camel Cup

Alice Springs, Northern Territory
Juli

Der Lasseters Camel Cup zieht jedes Jahr Besucher aus der ganzen Welt nach Alice Springs. Hier treten jeden Juli Kamele auf Rennstrecken im Outback gegeneinander an und werden dabei von tausenden Zuschauern bejubelt. Bei einem dieser Rennen verkleiden sich die Reiter als Bräutigame und sammeln nach halber Strecke ihre Bräute auf, um mit diesen die Ziellinie zu überqueren. Zwischen den einzelnen Durchgängen können Sie an einem Rikscha-Rennen teilnehmen oder sich beim Mr. and Miss Camel Cup mit den Schönen messen. Bauchtänzer, lokale Spezialitäten und Bars machen aus dem Lasseters Camel Cup ein perfektes Erlebnis.

Mount Isa Rotary Rodeo
Mount Isa Rotary Rodeo

Mount Isa Rotary Rodeo

Mount Isa, Queensland
August

Das Isa Rodeo findet in der Stadt Mount Isa im Outback von Queensland statt und ist das größte und vielfältigste Rodeo auf der Südhalbkugel. Hier verschmelzen die Romantik des australischen Outback und die Härte einer Bergbaustadt, Urbanität und Natur, Orient und Okzident und bilden den Hintergrund dramatischer Interaktionen zwischen Mensch und Tier. Das packende Action-Programm umfasst Bullenreiten, bockende Broncos und Steer Wrestling und lockt die besten Cowboys und Cowgirls des Landes an. Während der Rodeo Week verdoppelt sich die Einwohneranzahl von Mount Isa, da Besucher von nah und fern anreisen, um die Spannung und Aufregung des Rodeos hautnah mitzuerleben.

Hamilton Island, Queensland
August

Zuschauer und Segler aus aller Welt versammeln sich im August auf Hamilton Island, um der Hamilton Island Race Week beizuwohnen, Australiens größter jährlicher Kielboot-Regatta. Dieser Pflichttermin im internationalen Segelkalender bietet jede Menge Action im und abseits des Wassers.

Dank seiner idealen Lage am Great Barrier Reef zwischen den 74 Whitsunday Islands von Queensland kann Hamilton Island mit perfektem Wetter, türkisfarbenem Wasser, traumhaften Stränden, atemberaubenden Korallenriffen und großartigem Essen und Weinen aufwarten. Auf dem abwechslungsreichen Veranstaltungskalender stehen unter anderem von Starköchen zubereitete Gourmetgerichte, Modenschauen, Golfturniere und Weinproben.

Alice Springs, Northern Territory
August

Die Henley-on-Todd Regatta ist ein alljährlich stattfindender Segel- und Ruderwettbewerb in einem ausgetrockneten Flussbett in Alice Springs. In den 1960er Jahren kam man auf die Idee, eine Regatta nach dem Vorbild der berühmten Henley-on-Thames zwischen den englischen Universitäten von Cambridge und Oxford zu veranstalten. Der Rotary Club von Alice Springs machte es sich zur Aufgabe, diese Idee zu verwirklichen. Es schien dabei niemanden zu stören, dass die Stadt 1.500 Kilometer vom nächsten, größeren Gewässer entfernt ist. Die Henley-on-Todd Regatta ist die mittlerweile älteste Veranstaltung im Northern Territory. Jedes Jahr aufs Neue treten die Einheimischen in handgefertigten Booten auf dem sandigen Todd River gegeneinander an.

Birdsville Races
Birdsville Races

Birdsville Races

Birdsville, Queensland
September

Mit seinem auch als „Melbourne Cup of the Outback“ bezeichneten Rennen verwandelt sich Birdsville, ein kleiner Ort am Rand der Simpson Desert und acht Meilen nördlich der Südaustralischen Grenze gelegen, jedes Jahr in ein wahres Renn-Mekka. Besucher können hier zwei Tage lang Outback-Rennen und Unterhaltung genießen. An diesem Rennen, in dem es um den begehrten Birdsville Cup und Bargeldpreise geht, beteiligen sich die besten Pferde ganz Australiens. Die Birdsville Races wurden 1882 erstmals ausgetragen und haben sich zu einer australischen Renntradition entwickelt, die heute Besucher aus aller Welt anzieht. Der Erlös geht an den Royal Flying Doctor Service (die fliegenden Ärzte des Outbacks).

Australasian Safari
Australasian Safari

Australasian Safari

Western Australia
September

Die siebentägige Australasian Safari ist das härteste Langstreckenrennen im Asien-Pazifik-Raum. Diese Offroad-Autorally zieht sich von Perth bis Kalgoorlie über mehr als 3000 Kilometer durch das Golden Outback von Western Australia und stellt dabei selbst die widerstandsfähigsten Geländewagen, Motorräder und Quads auf die Probe. Die Teilnehmer starten in Perth und fahren von dort nach Geraldton, dann die Küste hinauf zum tropischen Carnarvon und ins Landesinnere durch die Gascoyne-Region an den Kennedy Ranges vorbei. Von dort geht es weiter in Richtung Süden bis zum Ziel in Geraldton. Zuschauer können einzelne Streckenabschnitte mit dem eigenen Motorrad oder Geländewagen zurücklegen und sich an den ausgewiesenen Zuschauerpunkten den Staub des Rennens um die Ohren blasen lassen.

Opera in the Vineyards
Opera in the Vineyards

Opera in the Vineyards

Yarra Valley, Victoria; Hunter Valley, New South Wales
Oktober

An zwei Wochenenden im Oktober findet das Opera in the Vineyards Festival auf zwei besonders renommierten australischen Weingütern statt, der Wyndham Estate Winery im Hunter Valley und Domaine Chandon im Yarra Valley von Victoria, Opera in the Vineyards statt. Neben gefeierten australischen Opernsängern sorgen auch die überwältigende Kulisse der Weinberge und das ausgezeichnete Speise- und Weinangebot für ein unvergessliches Erlebnis. Es empfiehlt sich, frühzeitig vor Ort zu sein, um die Geschmacksknospen ausgiebig verwöhnen zu können. Wenn die Sonne hinter den Weinbergen versinkt, erwartet Sie im großartigen Amphitheater ein denkwürdiger Abend mit erstklassiger klassischer Musik.

Anaconda Adventure Race
Anaconda Adventure Race

Anaconda Adventure Race

Noosa, Queensland; Augusta, Western Australia; Lorne, Victoria
August, November, Dezember

Das Anaconda Adventure Race ist ein spektakuläres Offroad-Event, das als größtes Abenteuerrennen der Welt gilt. Die Veranstaltung findet an drei Austragungsorten in Australien statt: Noosa in Queensland, Lorne in Victoria und Augusta in Western Australia. Alle Rennen der Nation-Serie umfassen anspruchsvolle Schwimm-, Kanu-, Lauf- und Mountainbike-Abschnitte durch die Wildnis. „Doing the Anaconda“, die Teilnahme an dem Rennen, ist zu einer beliebten Tradition in Australien geworden und jedes Jahr stellen dabei bis zu 1200 Personen ihre Kondition auf die Probe. Für die Unterhaltung der Zuschauer sorgen außerdem Marktstände, Speisen, Entertainment, Live-Musik und vieles mehr.

Veranstaltungen suchen









Weitere Australien-Vorschläge

Australia’s Regional and Outback Events

Ord Valley Muster, WA. © Caleb Davenport.

Australia’s Regional and Outback Events

Australia’s vast wide open spaces lend themselves to some uniquely Australian events you’re unlikely to experience anywhere else. Join the Kangaroo Island Gourmet Gallop or the Alice Springs Camel Cup. The Man from Snowy River Bush Festival, Ord Valley Muster and Mount Isa Rodeo will give you a glimpse of life in the great Australian bush. See Opera in the paddock or vineyards or have Christmas in July in the crisp Blue Mountains. Go underground at the Coober Pedy Opal Festival. Sample the Tastes of the Outback in South Australia or join the fun of Queensland’s Birdsville Races.

Kangaroo Island Gourmet Gallop
Kangaroo Island Gourmet Gallop

Kangaroo Island Gourmet Gallop

Kangaroo Island, South Australia
January

The Kangaroo Island Gourmet Gallop combines a great day of horse racing with a celebration of Kangaroo Island’s famous gourmet produce including seafood, lamb, olive oil, honey and local wines. The program features six races, where you can have a bet or two and soak up the atmosphere of a country race meeting. The Kangaroo Island Racing Club is one of the most picturesque tracks in South Australia, nestled amongst the unspoilt beauty of Australia’s third largest island. Spend a day at the races, then stay a few days more and try a taste of the island’s other famous attractions.

Tastes of the Outback
Tastes of the Outback

Tastes of the Outback

South Australia
March - April

Each April, the Flinders Ranges and Outback provides a stunning backdrop for four days of foodie festivities during Tastes of the Outback. Showcasing the best of South Australia – from Jamestown in the south to Innamincka in the North, Tastes of the Outback provides visitors with the opportunity to indulge in some of South Australia’s renowned regional food and wine, matched with world-class entertainment. Ride a camel to an exclusive candlelit dinner or watch movies and take cooking classes under the stars. A highlight is the Aussie Tea Cookout, a camp oven dinner in the surroundings of the magnificent Flinders Ranges.

Aussie Wine Month
Aussie Wine Month

Aussie Wine Month

National
April

Aussie Wine Month, organised by Wine Australia, is a medley of around 100 events, tastings, promotions and celebrations across the country showcasing fine Australian wines. The event brings the Australian wine community together to promote the quality, diversity and value of Australian wine and to showcase the Australian regions that have become internationally renowned for producing great wine. The celebration is for anyone who enjoys a drop of Australian wine whether it be Tassie Pinot Noir, Hunter Semillon, Margaret River Cabernet, Yarra Valley Chardonnay or Barossa Shiraz, or another variety from more than 60 designated wine regions.

Targa Tasmania
Targa Tasmania

Targa Tasmania

Tasmania
April

Targa Tasmania sees up to 300 of the world’s most exotic cars compete in an exhilarating tarmac rally, which loops across Tasmania in April. Designed specifically for elite sports, touring and grand tourer cars, the six-day event starts in Launceston and travels more than 2,000 kilometres before finishing in Hobart. Cheer for world champions and celebrities from dedicated spectator points. Or join the drivers for lunch in picturesque country towns such as George Town, Sheffield, St Helens, Devonport and New Norfolk. Visitors can even drive their own sports car in this scenic rally, which is televised across the globe.

Orange, New South Wales
April

Each April, the regional centre of Orange in New South Wales plays host to 10 days of divine fresh food and at the Orange F.O.O.D Week. Less than four hours from Sydney, visitors can savour the region’s famous fresh flavours and meet the people who create them at more than 60 events. Have breakfast in the vineyards, wander the apple orchards or take a cooking class in one of the acclaimed local restaurants. Attend a degustation dinner or a masquerade party. When the official events finish make sure to venture further and explore the area’s internationally renowned cool-climate wineries.

The Man from Snowy River Bush Festival
Man from Snowy River Festival

The Man from Snowy River Bush Festival

Corryong, Victoria
April

The Man from Snowy River Bush Festival is held annually in Corryong, Victoria in the foothills of the Snowy Mountains halfway between Melbourne and Sydney. The Festival was created as a celebration of bush folklore, skills and traditions and is a unique bush gathering of mountain riders, poets, artists and lovers of the Australian High Country and pioneering spirit. Held every April, the Festival brings together people from around Australia as well as international visitors to celebrate traditional high country and bush culture and in particular the imagery created by Australia's most famous poem ‘The Man from Snowy River’.

Canberra District Wine Harvest Festival
Canberra Wine Harvest Festival

Canberra District Wine Harvest Festival

Canberra and regions, Australian Capital Territory
April

The Canberra District Wine Harvest Festival offers the opportunity to enjoy the cool climate wines for which the region is renowned. See the vineyards during harvest with the vines heavy with fruit. Join in grape crushing, winemaking and wine appreciation classes, or just savour the fine fair accompanied by specially created Harvest Festival menus. Taste new releases from last year’s vintage and see this year’s being made. The Canberra District wine region has around 30 wineries and is one of those rare wine regions where you can still meet the winemaker or owner at the cellar door.

Kununurra, Western Australia
May

The Ord Valley Muster is a vibrant two-week celebration of life in the Kimberley. Join thousands of locals at more than 50 events across the region’s rugged landscape. Dress up for the comical 4WD adventure bash, swim across Lake Argyle, Australia’s largest man-made lake; or mountain bike along the challenging 800 kilometre-long Gibb River Road. Taste fresh Kimberley produce and enjoy Aboriginal music and dance. Join in the party, dig for diamonds or watch rough-riders at a rodeo. The grand finale of the event is the Kimberley Moon – a country music concert on the banks of the Ord River.

Blue Mountains, New South Wales
June - August

Every year, in the southern hemisphere winter from June to August, people flock to the Blue Mountains for Yulefest, an event which re-creates the atmosphere and charm of a traditional white Christmas in the northern hemisphere. The crisp cool air and occasional sprinkling of snow in the Blue Mountains lends itself perfectly to roaring fires, roast dinners, carol singing around the piano, grand black tie balls and even appearances by Santa Claus. In June, the streets of Katoomba come alive with a vibrant parade of jugglers, gymnasts, musicians, dancers, choirs, troubadours, buskers, storytellers and poets during the Winter Magic Festival.

Lasseters Camel Cup
Lasseters Camel Cup

Lasseters Camel Cup

Alice Springs, Northern Territory
July

The annual Lasseters Camel Cup attracts visitors to Alice Springs from all over the world. Held each July, camels are ridden around dusty outback tracks, providing great fun for spectators. In one race, riders dressed as grooms, race the camels half way round the arena, where they collect their blushing brides for the race to the finish line. In between races, visitors can take part in rickshaw races or compete to be the most fashionable on the field in the Mr and Miss Camel Cup. Belly dancers, food stalls and bars all add to the carnival atmosphere.

Mount Isa Rotary Rodeo
Mount Isa Rotary Rodeo

Mount Isa Rotary Rodeo

Mount Isa, Queensland
August

Located in the outback Queensland city of Mount Isa, the Isa Rodeo is the biggest and richest rodeo in the Southern Hemisphere. It’s where the romance of the Australian Outback meets the grit of a mining town, where city meets country, east meets west, and man meets beast. With a packed program of events including bull riding, bucking broncos and steer wrestling, the festival attracts some of the nation’s best cowboys and cowgirls. During Rodeo Week, Mount Isa's population swells two-fold with travellers from around the country and overseas to witness the thrills, excitement and raw power that is rodeo.

Audi Hamilton Island Race Week
Audi Hamilton Island Race Week

Audi Hamilton Island Race Week

Hamilton Island, Queensland
August

Spectators and yachtsmen and women from around the globe sail to Hamilton Island in August for Audi Hamilton Island Race Week, Australia's largest annual offshore keelboat regatta. A firm fixture on the international sailing calendar, there is plenty of action on and off the water. Perfectly situated on the edge of the Great Barrier Reef, amongst Queensland's 74 Whitsunday Islands, Hamilton Island offers glorious weather, azure waters, brilliant beaches, awe-inspiring coral reefs, and fine food and wines. Join in the festivities and lively calendar of events, including gourmet meals prepared by celebrity chefs, fashion shows, golfing competitions and wine tastings.

Alice Springs, Northern Territory
August

The Henley-on-Todd is an annual sailing and rowing regatta like no other, held on a dry river bed in Alice Springs. In the 1960s, the town proposed they hold a regatta like the famous Henley-on-Thames, race between Cambridge and Oxford Universities. The idea was taken up by the Rotary Club of Alice Springs. The fact that the town was 1500 kilometres from the nearest large body of water didn’t stop them. Now it’s the longest running event in the Northern Territory, turning the sandy Todd River into a humorous race track for a crazy fleet of hand-made boats each year.

Birdsville Races
Birdsville Races

Birdsville Races

Birdsville, Queensland
September

Dubbed as the ‘Melbourne Cup of the Outback’, each year thousands of racegoers converge on Birdsville, a tiny outback town on the edge of the Simpson Desert, eight miles north of the South Australian border, to enjoy two days of quality outback racing and entertainment. The race programs feature top horses from all over Australia competing for the coveted Birdsville Cup and cash prizes. The first Birdsville Races were held in 1882 and have become an Australian racing tradition which now attracts visitors from all over the world. Funds raised go towards supporting the outback’s Royal Flying Doctor Service.

Australasian Safari
Australasian Safari

Australasian Safari

Western Australia
September

The seven-day Australasian Safari is the toughest endurance motorsport event in the Asia Pacific region. This off-road car rally stretches more than 3000 kilometres from Perth to Kalgoorlie through Western Australia’s golden outback, testing even the hardiest of 4WD vehicles, motorbikes and quad bikes. Competitors take off from Perth and travel to Geraldton, up the coast to tropical Carnarvon and inland through the Gascoyne region, skirting around the Kennedy Ranges before heading south to finish in Geraldton. Spectators can drive sections of the course on their own motorbike or 4WD, stopping at designated points to soak up the dust-flying action.

Opera in the Vineyards
Opera in the Vineyards

Opera in the Vineyards

Yarra Valley, Victoria; Hunter Valley, New South Wales
October

Over two weekends in October, Opera in the Vineyards is held at two of Australia’s most renowned wineries, the Wyndham Estate Winery in the Hunter Valley and Domaine Chandon in Victoria’s Yarra Valley. Along with Australia’s most celebrated opera singers, the breathtaking surrounds of the vineyards and superb food and wine add up to an experience not to be missed. Guests are invited to arrive early to indulge their taste buds at a food and wine fair. As the sun sets over the vines, take a seat in the magnificent open-air amphitheatre for a truly memorable night of classical music.

Anaconda Adventure Race
Anaconda Adventure Race

Anaconda Adventure Race

Noosa, Queensland; Augusta, Western Australia; Lorne, Victoria
August, November, December

The Anaconda Adventure Race is a spectacular off-road event which is recognised as the world’s biggest adventure race. The event is held in three Australian locations: Noosa in Queensland; Lorne in Victoria and Augusta in Western Australia. All races of the national series include challenging swimming, paddling, run and mountain bike stages through wilderness areas. ‘Doing the Anaconda' has become a genuine institution across Australia, with upwards of 1200 competitors joining in the races. There are plenty of local attractions for spectators, with market stalls, food, entertainment, live music and more, all part of the fun in each location.

Wine, Roses and all that Jazz
Wine, Roses and all that Jazz

Wine, Roses and all that Jazz

Canberra and regions, Australian Capital Territory
November

More than 30 cellar doors in the Canberra District come alive with entertainment, food, activities, and of course wine tastings, during the Wine, Roses and All That Jazz Festival. Sample award-winning red and white wines, complemented by some of the region’s best gourmet food, and relax to live music in the vineyards. Take a wine tour and meet some of Canberra's passionate vignerons all within 45 minutes drive of the city. Wine, Rose and all that Jazz presents a rare opportunity to see the source vines of some of Australia’s award-winning wines and a chance to taste some excellent vintages.

Swisse Mark Webber Tasmanian Challenge
Swisse Mark Webber Challenge

Swisse Mark Webber Tasmanian Challenge

Tasmania
December

The Swisse Mark Webber Tasmania Challenge is a premium, five day, multi-discipline event taking in over 350 kilometres of terrain across some of Tasmania’s most stunning scenic locations. Competitors ride mountain bikes, kayak and trek different challenging courses daily. Tasmania is Australia’s adventure island. With over one third of Tasmania protected in National Parks and World Heritage Areas, the state lends itself to adventure enthusiasts. Wet or dry, extreme or gentle, Tasmania has something for every type of adventure-seeker. The race raises funds for the Mark Webber Foundation which supports Australian charities.

Search for Events









More Australian Ideas