Federation Square, Victoria

Federation Square, Melbourne, Victoria

Federation Square, Victoria

Federation Square est la grande place de Melbourne où chacun se donne rendez-vous. C'est un lieu culturel unique et éclectique combinant attractions, musées et galeries, restaurants, cafés et bars.

C'est également là que se tiennent plus de 2 000 événements chaque année, parmi lesquels festivals multiculturels, marchés, projections de films et compétitions sportives. L'esplanade a une capacité d'accueil de 10 000 personnes.

Grande comme un pâté de maisons et recouverte de pavés de la région des Kimberley en Australie occidentale, Federation Square est légèrement au-dessus du niveau de la rue, offrant une vue imprenable sur la ville de Melbourne, le quartier Southbank et la Yarra River.

Premier arrêt : l'office de tourisme pour planifier au mieux votre visite. Des visites guidées d'une heure sont organisées tous les matins du lundi au samedi.

Baladez-vous sur l'esplanade et contemplez l'Atrium, une remarquable structure semblable à une galerie, faite de verre, d'acier et de zinc et qui accueille un grand nombre d'expositions artistiques uniques. Amphithéâtre couvert, l'Edge est le lieu d'événements publics tels que pièces de théâtre et conférences. Le stade Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), les Alexandra Gardens, la tour du Victorian Arts Centre et la Yarra River sont tous visibles grâce aux parois en verre du bâtiment.

Federation Square abrite également le Ian Potter Centre, appartenant à la National Gallery of Victoria, l'Australian Centre for the Moving Image et le National Design Centre.

Premier centre de ce type au monde, l'Australian Centre for the Moving Image est dédié à l'image animée sous toutes ses formes, des prémices du cinéma aux tout derniers médias numériques.

Le Ian Potter Centre: NGV Australia est la première galerie au monde consacrée exclusivement à l'art australien. Il comprend notamment différentes sections (photos, gravures, dessins, mode et textiles, arts décoratifs), ainsi qu'une succession de galeries dédiées à l'art aborigène et insulaire du détroit de Torres.

Le National Design Centre rend hommage au design australien et présente un programme annuel d'expositions de design internationales et locales, permanentes ou provisoires.

À l'est de Federation Square se trouve Birrarung Marr, un parc en bordure de fleuve très prisé des riverains pour faire de l'exercice et se détendre. Birrarung signifie « rivière des brumes » dans la langue Woiwurrung du peuple Wurundjeri, propriétaire par tradition de cette terre. Marr signifie « bord du fleuve ».

ArtPlay est un centre où enfants et familles peuvent créer leurs propres objets d'art aux côtés d'artistes professionnels. Une aire de jeux extérieure est également mise à disposition.

Federation Wharf relie Federation Square à la pittoresque Yarra River de Melbourne à travers une série d'arcades historiques datant des années 1890. Vous pouvez également découvrir Melbourne en bateau à l'occasion d'une croisière sur la Yarra River ou louer un vélo pour explorer les magnifiques parcs et jardins de la ville.

Federation Square se trouve à l'angle de Swanston Street et Flinders Street dans le centre-ville de Melbourne, en face de Flinders Street Station et de St Paul's Cathedral. Federation Square est à quelques minutes de marche des principales attractions de Melbourne, comme la National Gallery of Victoria, les Royal Botanical Gardens, Crown Casino, Melbourne Aquarium, Melbourne Cricket Ground et Eureka Tower.

Plus d'idées australiennes

Federation Square, Victoria

Federation Square, Melbourne, VIC

Federation Square, Victoria

Federation Square is Melbourne's meeting place. It is a unique cultural precinct which brings together a creative mix of attractions, museums and galleries, along with many restaurants, cafes and bars.

Federation Square is also Melbourne’s events centre, with more than 2000 events held annually, including multicultural festivals, markets, film screenings and sporting events. It can hold up to 10,000 people at a time.

Comprising an entire city block and paved in sandstone cobbles from Western Australia’s Kimberley region, Federation Square rises slightly above street level offering spectacular views of the City of Melbourne, Southbank and the Yarra River.

Make the Visitor Information Centre your first stop to plan and make the most of your visit. One-hour guided walking tours are available each morning from Monday to Saturday.

Wander around the square and marvel at The Atrium, a remarkable galleria-like structure made of glass, steel and zinc which hosts many special art exhibitions. The Edge is an indoor amphitheatre and the venue for a range of live performances from theatre to talks. The Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), Alexandra Gardens, the Victorian Arts Centre spire and the Yarra River are all in view through the crystalline lining of the venue.

Federation Square is also home to the Ian Potter Centre, part of the National Gallery of Victoria; the Australian Centre for the Moving Image; and the National Design Centre.

The first centre of its kind in the world, the Australian Centre for the Moving Image is dedicated to the moving image in all its forms, from early cinema to the latest digital media.

The Ian Potter Centre: NGV Australia is the world's first major gallery dedicated exclusively to Australian art and includes photography, prints and drawings, fashion and textiles, decorative arts, and a suite of galleries dedicated to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander art.

The National Design Centre showcases Australian design and features an annual program of temporary and permanent local and international design exhibitions.

To the east of Federation Square is Birrarung Marr, a riverside park which is popular with locals for exercising and relaxing. Birrarung means ‘river of mists’ in the Woiwurrung language of the Wurundjeri people, the traditional owners of the area. Marr means ‘side of the river’.

ArtPlay is a specially designed centre where children and families can create their own artworks alongside professional artists and play in an exciting outdoor space.

Federation Wharf links Federation Square with Melbourne's picturesque Yarra River via a series of historic ‘vaults’ that date back to the 1890s. You can also discover Melbourne from the Yarra River on one of the city river cruises or hire a bicycle and explore the city’s beautiful parks and gardens.

Federation Square is located on the corner of Swanston Street and Flinders Street in the heart of Melbourne’s CBD, opposite Flinders Street Station and St Paul's Cathedral. Federation Square is within walking distance of major Melbourne attractions including the National Gallery of Victoria, Royal Botanical Gardens, Crown Casino, Melbourne Aquarium, Melbourne Cricket Ground and Eureka Tower.

More Australian Ideas