Programme Visa Vacances Travail (Working Holiday Visa Maker) - Foire Aux Questions

Razorback, Victoria’s High Country, VIC. © Tourism Victoria & Mark Watson

Programme Visa Vacances Travail (Working Holiday Visa Maker) - Foire Aux Questions


Vous programmez un Visa Vacances Travail en Australie ? Voici quelques réponses aux questions les plus fréquemment posées et des pistes pour trouver des informations supplémentaires.

Travailler légalement en Australie

Si vous avez l'intention de travailler pendant votre séjour en Australie, vous devez obtenir le visa approprié avant votre arrivée. Les lois australiennes sont strictes en matière d'emploi pour les ressortissants étrangers et prévoient des sanctions en cas d'infraction. Tous les types d'emploi sont concernés, qu'il s'agisse de travail à temps plein, temps partiel, ponctuel, posté ou bénévole.

Pour vous renseigner sur les conditions de travail en Australie, notamment sur le Visa Vacances Travail (Working Holiday Visa Maker), sur le visa approprié et ses conditions d'obtention, rendez-vous sur le site Web du ministère australien de l'immigration et de la citoyenneté (DIAC) http://www.immi.gov.au/skilled/.

Qu'est-ce que le Visa Vacances Travail (Working Holiday Visa Maker) ?

L'Australie propose un Programme Visa Vacances Travail (Working Holiday Visa Maker) qui permet aux jeunes voyageurs ressortissants des pays participants de passer des vacances prolongées en Australie tout en gagnant de l'argent grâce à des contrats de travail de courte durée. Il existe deux types de visas vacances-travail en fonction du pays dans lequel vous habitez : le visa Working Holiday (Subclass 417) et le visa Work and Holiday (Subclass 462). Ces visas vous permettent de séjourner et de travailler en Australie pendant 12 mois. Pour plus de détails, rendez-vous sur le site http://www.immi.gov.au/visitors/working-holiday/.

Y a-t-il un âge limite pour le Visa Vacances Travail ?

Vous devez avoir entre 18 et 30 ans au moment de la demande de visa. Vous trouverez de plus amples détails sur http://www.immi.gov.au/visitors/working-holiday/.

Quelles nationalités peuvent prétendre à un Visa Vacances Travail ?

Les pays participant actuellement aux programmes Working Holiday et Work and Holiday incluent : le Royaume-Uni, les États-Unis d'Amérique, le Canada, l'Argentine, le Chili, la République d'Irlande, l'Italie, la Turquie, la République de Chypre, la Belgique, le Danemark, l'Estonie, la Finlande, la France, l'Allemagne, Malte, les Pays-Bas, la Norvège, la Suède, l'Indonésie, la Malaisie, la Thaïlande, Hong Kong, le Japon, la République de Corée, Taiwan et le Bangladesh.

Pour savoir quels sont les pays/régions qui participent au programme du Visa Vacances Travail et le visa que vous devez demander, rendez-vous sur http://www.immi.gov.au/visitors/working-holiday/417/countries.htm.

Combien coûte un Visa Vacances Travail ?

Le dépôt d'une demande de visa s'accompagne de frais non remboursables. Pour connaître le coût d'une demande de Visa Vacances Travail, rendez-vous sur http://www.immi.gov.au/allforms/990i/working-holiday.htm.

Quelle est la durée de validité d'un Visa Vacances Travail ?

Vous disposez de 12 mois pour arriver en Australie après l'obtention de votreVisa Vacances Travail. Vous êtes autorisé(e) à séjourner dans le pays pendant 12 mois maximum, à compter de la date de la première entrée. Pour plus de détails, rendez-vous sur le site http://www.immi.gov.au/visitors/working-holiday/.

Puis-je sortir d'Australie une fois entré(e) avec un Visa Vacances Travail ?

Vous pouvez quitter et revenir sur le territoire australien un nombre de fois illimité pendant la période de validité de votre visa. Pour plus de détails, rendez-vous sur le site http://www.immi.gov.au/visitors/working-holiday/

Pendant combien de temps puis-je travailler avec un Visa Vacances Travail ?

Vous pouvez travailler de manière temporaire en Australie, sans dépasser 6 mois auprès d'un même employeur. Vous pouvez également étudier pendant une durée maximum de 4 mois. Pour plus de détails, rendez-vous sur le site http://www.immi.gov.au/visitors/working-holiday/

Puis-je prolonger mon séjour ?

Si vous êtes (ou avez déjà été) en possession d'un visa Working Holiday (Subclass 417) et que vous travaillez dans une région provinciale d'Australie, vous pouvez prolonger votre séjour de 12 mois avec un deuxième visa Working Holiday. Pour être éligible, vous devez avoir effectué un travail d'un des types spécifiés pendant trois mois dans une région provinciale d'Australie dans le cadre de votre premier visa Working Holiday. Vérifiez que le travail que vous effectuez et la région où vous travaillez remplissent les critères d'éligibilité. La durée d'extension de votre séjour en Australie avec un deuxième visa Working Holiday dépend de votre situation au moment où vous déposez votre demande. Vous encourez de lourdes sanctions si votre visa est arrivé à expiration et que vous n'avez pas quitté le territoire australien ou déposé une autre demande de visa. Vous risquez également d'être interdit(e) de séjour en Australie pendant un certain temps. Vous pouvez faire les démarches d'obtention d'un deuxième visa Working Holiday pendant ou après la période de validité de votre premier visa Working Holiday. Pour plus d'informations, rendez-vous sur http://www.immi.gov.au/visitors/working-holiday/417/eligibility-second.htm.

Existe-t-il d'autres options pour prolonger mon séjour, comme par exemple le parrainage ?

Il existe d'autres options si vous souhaitez rester temporairement ou définitivement en Australie à l'issue de vos vacances-travail. Pour vous renseigner sur le visa approprié et les conditions d'éligibilité, rendez-vous sur http://www.immi.gov.au/skilled/ ou http://www.immi.gov.au/visawizard.

Comment faire une demande d'obtention de Visa Vacances Travail ?

Les démarches se font auprès du ministère australien de l’immigration et de la citoyenneté (DIAC). Vous pouvez faire votre demande en ligne, par courrier postal ou par pli remis en main propre, en remplissant les formulaires requis. Pour obtenir plus d'informations et déposer votre demande, rendez-vous sur http://www.immi.gov.au/visitors/working-holiday/417/how-to-apply.htm ou http://www.immi.gov.au/visitors/working-holiday/462/.

Quels sont les délais d'obtention d'un Visa Vacances Travail ?

Les visas Working Holiday (Subclass 417) et Work and Holiday (Subclass 462) sont généralement délivrés dans un délai de 6 jours. Dans le cas d'un renouvellement de visa Working Holiday, le traitement des demandes prend entre 14 et 21 jours environ. Les délais varient en fonction de facteurs tels que l'exhaustivité du dossier et des contrôles complémentaires effectués par l'administration, notamment en matière de santé et de caractère moral. Pour plus d'informations, rendez-vous sur http://www.immi.gov.au/about/charters/client-services-charter/visas/1.0.htm.

Quels types de travail puis-je espérer trouver pendant mon Visa Vacances Travail ?

Vous pouvez exercer tout type de travail dans le cadre d'un Visa Vacances Travail, qu'il s'agisse d'un travail à temps plein, temps partiel, ponctuel, posté ou bénévole. Les opportunités sont nombreuses, notamment dans le secteur du tourisme, de l'accueil et de l'agriculture.

Où puis-je me renseigner sur les offres d'emploi ?

Tourism Australia a créé en partenariat avec l'agence de recrutement en ligne monster.com un site Web répertoriant les offres d'emploi disponibles pour les vacanciers-travailleurs.

Des informations sur les offres d'emplois du secteur agricole (vendanges/récoltes) dans les régions provinciales australiennes sont disponibles sur le site Web Harvest Trail du gouvernement australien: www.harvesttrail.gov.au.

Ai-je le droit d'étudier pendant mon Visa Vacances Travail ?

Vous pouvez étudier pendant quatre mois au cours des 12 mois de validité de votre visa. Les programmes Visa Vacances Travail ne conviennent pas à ceux qui souhaitent étudier à temps plein en Australie. Si vous venez en Australie avant tout pour étudier, un visa étudiant répondra probablement mieux à vos besoins. Rendez-vous sur http://www.immi.gov.au/students/students/chooser/.

J'aimerais étudier en Australie - Où puis-je me renseigner ?

Pour plus d'informations, rendez-vous sur www.studyinaustralia.gov.au.

Combien d'argent dois-je prévoir pour un Visa Vacances Travail en Australie ?

Pour obtenir un Visa Vacances Travail, vous devez apporter la preuve que vous avez les moyens de subvenir à vos besoins pendant la première partie de votre séjour. Vous devez également être en possession d'un billet retour ou disposer des moyens nécessaires pour pouvoir en acheter un. Pour plus d'informations, rendez-vous sur http://www.immi.gov.au/visitors/working-holiday/417/ ou http://www.immi.gov.au/visitors/working-holiday/462/.

Combien d'argent puis-je espérer gagner ?

Les rémunérations et les conditions de travail sont fixées par la législation australienne. Pour trouver des exemples de rémunération dans différents secteurs, rendez-vous sur http://www.fairwork.gov.au/Pages/default.aspx.

Des taxes seront prélevées sur les salaires que vous percevrez. Il vous faudra également ouvrir un compte bancaire australien et obtenir un identifiant fiscal avant de commencer à travailler.

Comment faire pour ouvrir un compte bancaire australien ?

Les démarches peuvent être faites dès votre arrivée. Il suffit de vous rendre dans une agence bancaire muni(e) de votre passeport et des documents appropriés. Beaucoup de banques simplifient les démarches pour les visiteurs détenteurs d'un Visa Vacances Travail, à condition qu'ils ouvrent leur compte dans les 28 jours suivant l'entrée sur le territoire. L'Australian Bankers Association (association des banques australiennes) fournit des informations indépendantes qui vous aideront à choisir un compte bancaire en fonction de vos besoins: www.bankers.asn.au.

La poste australienne (Australia Post) propose elle aussi des services bancaires pour le compte de banques et institutions financières. Vous pouvez par exemple utiliser une carte de crédit ou de débit pour déposer ou retirer de l'argent, connaître le solde d'un compte, régler des factures de carte bancaire et envoyer de l'argent à l'étranger: www.auspost.com.au.

Comment faire pour obtenir un identifiant fiscal ?

Si vous pouvez faire une demande d'identifiant fiscal (Australian Tax File Number) en ligne via le site internet de l'Australian Taxation Office http://www.ato.gov.au/individuals/content.aspx?doc=/content/38760.htm&pc=001/002/001/008/002&mnu=1106&mfp=001/002&st=&cy=1.

Où puis-je me renseigner sur les expériences Visa Vacances Travail en Australie d'autres voyageurs ?

Découvrez les témoignages de voyageurs qui sont déjà dans le pays avec un Visa Vacances Travail sur http://www.facebook.com/AustralianWorkingHoliday. Retrouvez également la page Facebook "Australie Visa Vacances Travail" en français : www.facebook.com/AustralieVisaVacancesTravail.

Idées découverte

Working Holiday Maker Program - Frequently Asked Questions

Razorback, Victoria’s High Country, VIC. © Tourism Victoria & Mark Watson

Working Holiday Maker Program - Frequently Asked Questions

Planning a working holiday in Australia? Here are some answers to the most often asked questions, as well as guidance on where to find more information.

Working legally in Australia

If you intend to work while you are on holiday in Australia, you must apply for the correct visa before you arrive. The Australian Government has strict laws regarding employment of non-citizens and penalties for breaking the law. This applies to all types of full-time, part-time, casual, shift and voluntary work.

For detailed information on working in Australia, including on a Working Holiday Maker visa, and to find out appropriate visa and eligibility requirements visit the Australian Government Department of Immigration and Citizenship
http://www.immi.gov.au/skilled/.

What is a Working Holiday Maker visa?

Australia offers a Working Holiday Maker program that allows young travellers from participating countries to have an extended holiday in Australia and earn money through short-term employment. There are two types of Working Holiday Maker visas: Working Holiday visa (Subclass 417) and Work and Holiday visa (Subclass 462). The visa you should apply for depends on your country of residence. These types of visas allow you to stay and work in Australia for up to 12 months. For details visit http://www.immi.gov.au/visitors/working-holiday/.

Is there an age limit on a working holiday maker visa?

You must be aged between 18 and 30 years at the time of applying for your visa. Find out more details at http://www.immi.gov.au/visitors/working-holiday/

Which nationalities can apply for a working holiday maker visa?

Countries currently participating in the Working Holiday and Holiday and Work programs include the United Kingdom, United States of America, Canada, Argentina, Chile, Republic of Ireland, Italy, Turkey, Republic of Cyprus, Belgium, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, Indonesia, Malaysia, Thailand, Hong Kong, Japan, Republic of Korea, Taiwan and Bangladesh.

To find out the countries/regions participating in the working holiday visa program and the correct visa to apply for visit http://www.immi.gov.au/visitors/working-holiday/417/countries.htm

How much does a working holiday maker visa cost?

There is a non-refundable charge when you lodge your visa application. For current working holiday visa application costs visit http://www.immi.gov.au/allforms/990i/working-holiday.htm

How long is a working holiday maker visa valid?

Once you are granted a working holiday maker visa, you will have 12 months to arrive in Australia. You are allowed to stay for a maximum of 12 months from the date that you first enter the country. For details visit http://www.immi.gov.au/visitors/working-holiday/

Can I leave Australia again once I’ve entered on a working holiday maker visa?

You can leave and re-enter Australia any number of times while the visa is valid. For more information visit http://www.immi.gov.au/visitors/working-holiday/

How long can I work on a working holiday maker visa?

You can undertake temporary employment in Australia for up to six months with any one employer. You can also study for up to four months. For more information visit http://www.immi.gov.au/visitors/working-holiday/

Can I stay longer?

If you hold (or have previously held) a Working Holiday (Subclass 417) visa and work in Australia’s regional areas, you may be able to extend your stay for another 12 months with a second working holiday visa. To be eligible you must have completed three months specified work in regional areas of Australia while on your first Working Holiday visa. Check to ensure the work you are undertaking and the regional area of Australia is eligible under the guidelines. The length of time you can stay in Australia if you are granted a second Working Holiday visa depends on your current circumstances at the time you apply. There are heavy penalties if your Working Holiday visa expires and you have not left Australia or applied for another visa. You may also not be allowed to return to Australia for a period of time. You can apply for a second Working Holiday visa either while you still have your first Working Holiday visa or at a later date. For more information visit http://www.immi.gov.au/visitors/working-holiday/417/eligibility-second.htm

Are there any other options to stay longer, such as being sponsored?

There may be options if you wish to stay temporarily or permanently in Australia at the end of your working holiday. To find out appropriate visa and eligibility requirements visit http://www.immi.gov.au/skilled/ or http://www.immi.gov.au/visawizard

How do I apply for a working holiday maker visa?

Applications are to be made through the Department of Immigration and Citizenship. You can apply online, by post or courier after completing the relevant forms. For more information and to apply visit http://www.immi.gov.au/visitors/working-holiday/417/how-to-apply.htm or http://www.immi.gov.au/visitors/working-holiday/462/

How long will my working holiday maker visa application take?

A Working Holiday Visa (Subclass 417) and Work and Holiday visa (Subclass 462) can generally be issued in around six days. Second Working Holiday visas take around 14-21 days to process. Processing times may be affected by factors such as the completeness of applications lodged and additional checks performed by visa processing officers, such as those relating to health and character. For more information visit http://www.immi.gov.au/about/charters/client-services-charter/visas/1.0.htm

What kinds of work can I expect to do on my working holiday?

You can do any kind of work on your working holiday visa including full-time, part-time, casual, shift and voluntary work. There are many opportunities in the tourism, hospitality and agricultural industries, to name a few.

Where can I find out about available jobs?

Tourism Australia has partnered with online recruitment agency monster.com to create a website of job vacancies available for working holiday visitors.

Information about harvest work opportunities in regional Australia can be found at the Australian Government’s Harvest Trail website. www.harvesttrail.gov.au

Can I study on a working holiday?

You can study for up to four months during your 12 month visa. The working holiday programs are not suitable for those seeking to study full-time in Australia. If your primary reason for coming to Australia is to study you should enquire about a student visa which may better suit your needs.Visit http://www.immi.gov.au/students/students/chooser/

I’d like to study in Australia, where do I find out more?

For more information visit www.studyinaustralia.gov.au

How much money do I need to bring to Australia on my working holiday visit?

For your working holiday maker visa application you must demonstrate that you have access to sufficient funds to support yourself for the initial stage of your holiday. You should also have a return or onward ticket or the funds for a fare to depart Australia. For more information visit http://www.immi.gov.au/visitors/working-holiday/417/ or http://www.immi.gov.au/visitors/working-holiday/462/

How much can I expect to earn?

Australian laws set out pay rates and conditions of employment. To find examples of wages across a number of industries visit http://www.fairwork.gov.au/Pages/default.aspx

Taxes will be deducted from any money you make. You will also need to open an Australian bank account and obtain a tax file number before you start work.

How do I open an Australian bank account?

Opening a bank account can be done on arrival, just visit a bank with your passport and relevant documentation. Many banks will make this process simpler for visitors on a working holiday visa provided that they open the account within 28 days of entering Australia. The Australian Bankers Association provides helpful independent information to help you choose a bank account that best suits your needs. www.bankers.asn.au

Australia Post also provides banking services on behalf of banks and financial institutions, so you can use your credit or debit card for deposits and withdrawals, account balance enquiries, paying credit card bills and sending money overseas. www.auspost.com.au

How do I apply for a Tax File Number?

If you have a valid visa already issued which allows you to work in Australia, you can apply for an Australian Tax File Number online via the Australian Taxation Office website http://www.ato.gov.au/individuals/content.aspx?doc=/content/38760.htm&pc=001/002/001/008/002&mnu=1106&mfp=001/002&st=&cy=1  

Where can I find out about other people’s Australian working holiday experiences?

Hear from people already in Australia on a Working Holiday Visa at http://www.australia.com/whv-videos-uk.aspx or http://www.facebook.com/AustralianWorkingHoliday

More Australian Ideas